RSS

New album in the works…

06 Mar

I know, I know.  It’s premature to be blogging about my new album when my current album is still only in the mixing stage but don’t go raining on my parade.

I’ve decided for this next album (let’s call it Super Awesome Untitled Project of Death) that I’m not going to make any beats for it.  I’m making too many beats for other people to waste them on myself.  Also, I got into making hip hop music because I liked to rap.  These days I seem to be concentrating on everything except writing lyrics.  And that’s not cool.  So I decided to hit up a bunch of the talented folks that I have worked with in the past (and still work with in many cases) for a bit of beatage.  So far the response has been good.

This album will be altogether darker and more underground than the current album.  I had a vision for my current album that it would stay away from the dark and morbid style which I find most natural and look to achieve something a bit more organic and warm.  I think, for the most part, I’ve achieved that.  For the next album I would really like to say “Fuck you! This is me.”.  That should come a bit more easily.

My wishlist?

I’d like to get a beat from Mr. Trials. I produced two tunes for the Funkoars first LP (Who’s Your Step Daddy?) and I’ve known Trials forever so that should be doable.

I’ve got my eyes on this one tune by Archi.  If he’ll let me degrade it with vocals it should be a sweet cut.

Undoubtedly, I’ll harrass A.pt and Lenny Rudeberg for beats.  I love their shit.  Also they’re mates so it should be something I can make happen.

Dazastah.   I want a beat from him.  I’ve known Daz and Layla for a good long while but we’ve fallen out of touch in recent years.  Still, I’ve always loved Daz’s work.  If I could get Layzle Dayzle for a guest spot, too, that would be sweeeeeeet.

Ourobonic Plague makes dope shit.  I’ve known him for a long time, too.  In fact, we had a jam about a week ago which was good times.  I’m not sure how that would work since Ourobonic Plague makes noise/drone music, basically.  However, it’s my album so fuck you all.  I’ll make whatever the fuck I want.

Boost Hero Man makes dope beats.  His shit is all staggered and swingy.  If I can pressure him into making something dark and sinister I think it would be the balls.

Also, there’s this cat in Brisvegas that makes nice beats.  His name is Renz.  Again, I’ll see if I can prod him into darker territory and we’ll get something going.

The last, and least likely, would be a beat from Prowla.  I used to run into Prowla all the time when I was living in Melbourne.  I hung out with him a bunch of times and that shit meant a lot to me.  It probably didn’t mean squat to him, though, and I wonder if he remembers me at all.  If he does, it could happen.  If not, then I don’t like my chances.  Either way, he has always been one of the dopest producers in Australia and I’d love to get a joint from him.

Other than that, I’m open to offers.

I have a good feeling about this joint.

I know so many dope emcees but I really want to keep guest vocals to a minimum.  That will be hard.  I’ll definitely get something from ASAP, Fatty Phew and Trials if they’re willing.  I’d love to do more tracks with The Empty Cup (his verse kills it on my current album).  Also, I’d love to work with Mathas on something.  However, there is also Stats, Syde FX, Wisdom2th, G-box, Muphin, Headlock (and the list goes on) that I’d love to work with.  I’m only looking at 10 tracks.  I don’t want more than 4 tracks with guest emcees.  That will be hard.  Did I already say that?

Anyway, I’ll keep you posted.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2012 in Album, Hip Hop, Production, Recording

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “New album in the works…

  1. Dazastah

    March 7, 2012 at 12:02 AM

    Yoe Son!!!! What up!!! Hit me up on the fb… Facebook.com/lordofdazastah
    Lets link a make something…. BLAM!!!!

     
    • iamfg

      March 7, 2012 at 12:18 PM

      Will do, maynnnn…

       

Leave a Reply

 
