RSS

Outcasts… is it awesome?

24 Jun

Still from Sci-Fi short film "The Scanner...

Image via Wikipedia

 

Hi folks,

I’m not averse to some space-y nonsense.  In fact I’m a little bit addicted to it.  So, when a friend put me onto a British sci-fi series called Outcasts which involved “people stranded on a planet and stuff” I was pretty much sweating to start watching it.

My first issue with the series is this (and trust me, I’m an expert watcher that has seen a whole two episodes) – they’re not really outcasts.  They’re settlers or colonisers.  But then again maybe it refers to the other ones.  Yeah the other ones.  It’s really hard to critique a series without inadvertently bringing up spoilers.

The second, and more legitimate, issue with the series thus far is the fact that the characters engage in soooooo muuuucch exposition through dialogue.  This is the death of good stories.  Didn’t your Year 8 English teacher tell you to “show not tell“?  The other problem with exposition through dialogue is that it limits character development.  Characters stop being fully rounded people and become little more than tools for developing plot.  And, even though sci-fi is a form of speculative fiction, it’s generally about how people would behave or react if things were different.  To do that, you need to have well-developed people in your story.

Anyway, as I said, I’m only two episodes in and I still have high hopes for the series so we’ll see how it goes.

On another note, how awesome is Game of Thrones?!

PEESHE

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 24, 2011 in Films, sci-fi, science fiction, scifi

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Outcasts… is it awesome?

  1. Andrew Girle

    June 24, 2011 at 11:44 AM

    I’ve been watching OUTCASTS as well, really enjoyed the first ep, meh on the second and didn’t panic when I missed the third. I am hoping the 4th brings me back, because the story had a lot of promise when first outlined.

     
    • iamfg

      June 24, 2011 at 2:13 PM

      Yeah, unfortunately a slow start can kill many a decent series. It destroyed Stargate Universe which, by the start of Season 2 had become quite watchable but, alas, had already lost most of its viewers. I hope the same doesn’t happen for Outcasts – as it looks more interesting than SGU did anyway.

       

Leave a Reply

 
