RSS

Top 5 People That I Didn’t Know Were Dead…

01 Jun

Hi folks,

Here’s a morbid one for you.  But it’s not my fault.

A friend of mine asked me to look up an actor on IMDB and, somehow, I got sidetracked by one of those lists that people post.  What I discovered is that I have been keeping inadequate tabs on dead famous people.  I’ll have to review my filing system for that one.

So, here’s my top 5 list of people that I didn’t know were dead (but who, in fact, are):

1. Jonathon Brandis

Jonathan Brandis

I was never a big SeaQuest DSV fan, but I remember girls in high school fainting all over the place at the mention of his name.  Apart from starring in the poor man’s version of The Neverending Story (that would be, The Neverending Story II) he didn’t really do a lot else.  Which is bad because it appears that he killed himself because he was depressed about his declining career.

Depression is a serious issue, by the way.  No jokes here.

2. Nate Dogg

Nate Dogg

For about three weeks in 1994, “Dogg Food” by Tha Dogg Pound was on permanent rotation in my CD player.  Also, I make hip hop music.  So, you can imagine my surprise to find out that Nate Dogg was dead and I knew nothing about it.  He was pretty much a legend of the US’s Westcoast G-funk scene and, truthfully, it makes me a little sad that he’s dead… even though I didn’t know him… which is odd.

3. Chris Penn

Chris Penn

Chris Penn was a fine actor and the younger brother of Sean Penn (who is also a fine actor).  Apart from playing Nice Guy Eddie Cabot in the killer flick Reservoir Dogs, he also voiced Officer Pulaski in Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas.  He died of an enlarged heart in 2006.  Five years later, I found out about it.

4. Corey Haim

Corey Haim.

Image via Wikipedia

The other Corey from The Lost Boys (Corey Feldman being the other other Corey).  Apparently this was one of the top ten tweeted things in March 2010 which just goes to show that I don’t use Twitter.

5. Adam Goldstein

DJ AM

Here’s one that really surprised me.  I never really thought he was particularly good as a DJ or a producer but, nevertheless, I felt like I should have known this.  He died in 2009 of an overdose.

So that’s that.  The story of my general inability to keep up with the unfortunate ends of famous people.

PEESHE

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 1, 2011 in Bad films, Films, Hip Hop

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
